Tuesday, 17 May 2022

Montgomery-Åsberg Depression Rating Scale (MADRS)

Montgomery-Åsberg Depression Rating Scale (MADRS)

The 10-item Montgomery-Åsberg Depression Rating Scale (MADRS) measures the severity of depression in individuals 18 years and older. Each item is rated on a 7-point scale. The scale is an adaptation of the Hamilton Depression Rating Scale and has a greater sensitivity to change over time. The scale can be completed in 20 to 30 minutes.


Montgomery, S.A., & Åsberg, M. (1979). A new depression scale was designed to be sensitive to change. The British Journal of Psychiatry, 134, 382-389. http://dx.doi.org/10.1192/bjp.134.4.382


Davidson, J., Turnbull, C.D., Strickland, R., Miller, R., & Graves, K. (1986). The MontgomeryÅsberg Depression Scale: Reliability and validity. Acta Psychiatrica Scandinavica, 73(5), 544-548. https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1600-0447.1986.tb02723.x

More Information

Science direct: Montgomery-Åsberg Depression Rating Scale

How to Access

The MADRS (PDF, 185KB) is in the public domain and no permission is required for use.

The scale, including all developments and translations, is copyright: © Stuart Montgomery 1978, Measures of Depression, Fulcrum Press, London.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Your Thoughts?

Featured Post

ICD-11 Criteria for Gambling Disorder (6C50)

ICD-11 Criteria for Gambling Disorder (6C50) Foundation URI : http://id.who.int/icd/entity/1041487064 6C50 Gambling disorder Description G...