Skip to main content

Classification of Depression According to the International Classification Diseases, Tenth Revision (ICD-10)

Classification of Depression According to the International Classification Diseases, Tenth Revision (ICD-10)

Waleed Ahmad

The ICD-10 has comprehensively sub-classified into various categories based on the clinical profile of symptoms and the course of symptoms. 

Based on the course, it may be a depressive episode, recurrent (major) depressive disorder, persistent depressive disorder or dysthymia, recurrent brief depression, etc. Depression may also be either unipolar or bipolar or it may occur in  

  1. A first depressive episode, duration of at least15 days, is classified as a depressive episode (F32). If the first depressive episode severe and rapid onset, duration less than 15 days still depressive episode (F32).  
  2. A depressive episode can be
    1. mild (2 core symptoms, 2 other symptoms from the list) (32.0)
    2. moderate (2 core symptoms, 3 or preferably 4 other symptoms) (32.1)
  3. Severe (3 core symptoms, 4 other symptoms) without psychotic symptoms (32.2) (no delusion, hallucination or stupor)
  4. Severe with psychotic symptoms (above plus either delusions, hallucinations or stupor) (F32.3)
  5. Delusions can be mood-congruent or incongruent (neutral delusions e.g. delusions of reference are considered mood incongruent. None of them counts towards schizoaffective disorder unless one of the first-rank) 
  6. A mild and moderate depressive episode can be 
    1. with somatic syndrome (four or more somatic symptoms, or three very severe somatic symptoms)
    2. without somatic syndrome (three or less somatic symptoms, not severe) 
  7. A severe depressive episode always has a somatic syndrome 
  8. Psychotic symptoms occur only in severe depression 
  9. An episode of melancholic depression and agitated depression is coded under the severe depressive episode 
  10. A single episode with atypical features→Other depressive episodes (F32.8)
  11. An episode of masked depression NOS also coded under Other depressive episodes (F32.8) 
  12. If depressive symptoms fluctuate/alternate with non-depressive symptoms e.g. worry, tension, distress also coded under F32.8
  13. The second episode of depression changes the diagnostic category to recurrent depressive disorder (F33) 
  14. A long history of typical depressive episodes, current episode hypomanic, the category remains recurrent depressive disorder (F33) 
  15. Few brief hypomanic episodes but most of the episodes were depressive, the category remains the same
  16. A long history of depressive episodes, current episode manic, category changes to bipolar 
  17. A patient develops an episode that persists for long, fulfils criteria of depression, →persistent depression (F33.8 other recurrent mood disorders) 
  18. An episode of subthreshold depressive symptoms persists for two years→dysthymia 
  19. An episode of mild or moderate depression, followed by a two-year history of subthreshold depressive symptoms →dysthymia 
  20. An episode of subthreshold depressive symptoms, current episode mild/moderate depression, → NOT dysthymia. Call it double depression? recurrent depressive disorder (? not clarified) current episode mild/moderate depression
  21. Seasonal affective disorder coded under F33 (current mild or moderate episode only i.e. Cannot be severe) 
  22. A patient has monthly episodes of depression that last less than two weeks, usually 2-3 days. Symptomatic criteria for d episode only depressive episodes can be fulfilled →recurrent be monthly episodes if depressive disorder F38.10
  23. A patient has symptoms of both mania and depression which are equally prominent and fulfil criteria for depression and mania or hypomania by the number and severity of symptoms, last for two weeks→mixed affective episode 
  24. A patient has symptoms of both mania and depression which alternate within hours, and fulfil criteria for depression as well as mania or hypomania by the number and severity of symptoms, the episode lasts for two weeks→mixed affective episode


  1. I have recently started a blog, the info you provide on this site has helped me greatly. Thanksfor all of your time & work. ICD


Post a Comment

Your Thoughts?

Popular posts from this blog

ADVOKATE: A Mnemonic Tool for the Assessment of Eyewitness Evidence

ADVOKATE: A Mnemonic Tool for Assessment of Eyewitness Evidence A tool for assessing eyewitness  ADVOKATE is a tool designed to assess eyewitness evidence and how much it is reliable. It requires the user to respond to several statements/questions. Forensic psychologists, police or investigative officer can do it. The mnemonic ADVOKATE stands for: A = amount of time under observation (event and act) D = distance from suspect V = visibility (night-day, lighting) O = obstruction to the view of the witness K = known or seen before when and where (suspect) A = any special reason for remembering the subject T = time-lapse (how long has it been since witness saw suspect) E = error or material discrepancy between the description given first or any subsequent accounts by a witness.  Working with suspects (

ICD-11 Criteria for Anorexia Nervosa (6B80)

ICD-11 Criteria for Anorexia Nervosa (6B80) Anorexia Nervosa is characterised by significantly low body weight for the individual’s height, age and developmental stage that is not due to another health condition or to the unavailability of food. A commonly used threshold is body mass index (BMI) less than 18.5 kg/m2 in adults and BMI-for-age under 5th percentile in children and adolescents. Rapid weight loss (e.g. more than 20% of total body weight within 6 months) may replace the low body weight guideline as long as other diagnostic requirements are met. Children and adolescents may exhibit failure to gain weight as expected based on the individual developmental trajectory rather than weight loss. Low body weight is accompanied by a persistent pattern of behaviours to prevent restoration of normal weight, which may include behaviours aimed at reducing energy intake (restricted eating), purging behaviours (e.g. self-induced vomiting, misuse of laxatives), and behaviours aimed at incr

ICD-11 Criteria for Schizophrenia (6A20 )

ICD-11 Criteria for Schizophrenia (6A20 ) Schizophrenia is characterised by disturbances in multiple mental modalities, including thinking (e.g., delusions, disorganisation in the form of thought), perception (e.g., hallucinations), self-experience (e.g., the experience that one's feelings, impulses, thoughts, or behaviour are under the control of an external force), cognition (e.g., impaired attention, verbal memory, and social cognition), volition (e.g., loss of motivation), affect (e.g., blunted emotional expression), and behaviour (e.g., behaviour that appears bizarre or purposeless, unpredictable or inappropriate emotional responses that interfere with the organisation of behaviour). Psychomotor disturbances, including catatonia, may be present. Persistent delusions, persistent hallucinations, thought disorder, and experiences of influence, passivity, or control are considered core symptoms. Symptoms must have persisted for at least one month in order for a diagnosis of schi